The Conference of Participants of the Register of Damage for Ukraine elects its Board

© Register of Damage for Ukraine

© Register of Damage for Ukraine

The Conference of Participants of the Register of Damage caused by the Aggression of the Russian Federation against Ukraine came together for its 3rd meeting on 16 November and elected the seven members of the Register’s Board.

Of the 18 candidates (9 men and 9 women) from four different continents, Yulia Kyrpa (Ukraine), Norbert Wühler (Germany), Chiara Giorgetti (Italy), Robert Spano (Iceland), Veijo Heiskanen (Finland), Lucy Reed (United States) and Aleksandra Mężykowska (Poland) were elected for a three-year term (renewable once).

The Board is one of the principal bodies of the Register and is crucial for its functioning. It will propose the rules and regulations governing the work of the Register and is ultimately responsible for recording eligible claims in the Register. The Board will have its first meeting in The Hague (the Netherlands) in December.

To date, 43 countries and the European Union are participating in the Register of Damage for Ukraine.

The Register has its seat in The Hague and will serve as a record of evidence and claims for damage, loss or injury caused to all natural and legal persons concerned, as well as the State of Ukraine by Russia’s internationally wrongful acts in or against Ukraine. It is a first step towards an international compensation mechanism for victims of this aggression.

The goal is for the Register to be able to start receiving claims in the first quarter of 2024.

Strasbourg 16/11/2023
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page

Follow us on social media 

 X (Twitter)