Constitutive meeting of the Conference of Participants in the Register of Damage for Ukraine

© Council of Europe

© Council of Europe

The Conference of Participants of the Register of damage caused by the Russian Federation’s aggression against Ukraine held its constitutive meeting, bringing together the representatives of more than 40 countries.

The Register will serve as a record of evidence and claims for damage, loss or injury caused to all natural and legal persons concerned, as well as the State of Ukraine by Russia’s internationally wrongful acts in or against Ukraine. It is a first step towards an international compensation mechanism for victims of this aggression.

“The Register needs to draw from data and information collected at the national level, on the ground, in Ukraine. For coherence, that work needs to be victim-centred too. With common methodology based on Council of Europe standards. That is why the Statute of the Register is clear about the need for a satellite office in Kyiv. And why we will continue to work hand-in-glove with the Ukrainian authorities. Ensuring that our approach is complementary and effective,” said the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Marija Pejčinović Burić at the opening.

“The perpetrators of war crimes - including the crime of aggression - must be held accountable, and justice should be brought to victims, to survivors, to the families of those who did not survive, and to the state of Ukraine. Our Assembly stressed that justice and comprehensive accountability for the aggression and its consequences cannot be achieved without full reparation for the damage caused to Ukraine and its citizens,” said the President of the Parliamentary Assembly Tiny Kox.

“The Register of Damage stands as the most valuable outcome of the Reykjavik Summit and today's meeting marks a significant milestone as we begin to make the necessary decisions that will pave the way for its operations. This initiative holds significant potential to bring justice and support to the victims of the Russian aggression, and it underlines our commitment to upholding the principles of human rights, the rule of law and democracy,” said Ambassador and Chair of the Ministers’ Deputies Jānis Kārklinš, on behalf of the Latvian Presidency.

The conference elected the Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom Sandy Moss as Chair, the Permanent Representative of the Netherlands Tanja Gonggrijp and Emil Ruffer, Director of the Interrnational Law Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, as Vice-Chairs.

To date, forty-three countries and the European Union are participating (as participants or associate members) in the Enlarged Partial Agreement on the Register of Damage established at the Council of Europe Summit in Reykjavik (16-17 May 2023) and many others have expressed their intention to join.

Strasbourg 27/06/2023
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page

Follow us on social media 

 X (Twitter)